SYDNEY

Okay, okay, okay. Where to start…

Sydney, Australia is simply amazing. Words cannot describe it, but here, I will try.

My journey to Sydney began on Thursday at 5:30 p.m. on a bus with 20 stellar people. After two hours on this baby bus, we picked up another group of students and transferred into an actual travel bus (like a Greyhound). For the next 12 hours, we all attempted to sleep. Thankfully, I was lucky enough to have a fun bus buddy. Thanks, Hil! You’d think that a 12 hour bus ride in the middle of the night would be a peaceful one- not so much. It was by far the funniest journey I have ever had. It was a perfect start to the trip. We arrived in Sydney around 9 a.m. Friday morning.

Once we arrived, we dropped off our baggage at our Hostel, Base. What a great place!

Anyways, we dropped off our bags and started our tour of Sydney on foot. We stopped at the ANZAC War Memorial, the Royal Botanic Gardens and St. Mary’s Cathedral.

The ANZAC War Memorial is in memory of those Australia soldiers who fought in World War I.

Image

Royal Botanic Gardens (I didn’t take a lot of pictures here… woops)

Image

St. Mary’s Cathedral. No pictures were allowed inside of the church, but imagine the most breathtaking church you ever could… That is what the cathedral looks like. Beautiful stained glass, high ceilings and gorgeous sculptures.

Image

Next up: THE OPERA HOUSE and PYLON BRIDGE CLIMB.

Okay, so all of the above was gorgeous and in Sydney, but for some reason, I still did not feel like I was in Sydney. We started walking down a walk way and there it was– THE SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE. YES. I finally felt like I was in Sydney, Australia! How exciting. During this time, everyone was leaning against a wall/ledge to get “that” picture. Well, I decided to be funny and lay on this ledge. This is the really funny part coming up… My third Australian prepaid phone (yes, I said third….) fell out of my pocket and into the ocean. So, I am going without a cell phone for the rest of my journey. Thank goodness for Facebook… Ha!

Anyways, back to the good stuff. The Opera House…

ImageImageImage

**View from the Bridge!

After all of the sight seeing, we embarked to the Paddy Markets– The biggest flea market you will ever go to. It was a sensory overload. The smells, sights, noises… Woah. But I did get some awesome deals on some Aussie gear.

Favorite part of the weekend: HALLOWEEN BOOZE CRUISE.

That’s right… We got to go on a Halloween booze cruise. Everyone on the boat was dressed up and the sights were beautiful. The cruise went through the Sydney Harbour, so the views of the Opera House and the city itself were simply breathtaking.

Image

Image

Image

I was a nerd for Halloween…

Image

After the cruise, we went back to our hostel and went to the club next door, The Scary Canary. It was too much fun. The club shut down at 3 a.m. but my friend Nicole and I still wanted to experience Sydney night life… So, we did. We found a pub called Scruffy’s and with a little talking to the club manager, we were let in (no cover paid) at 3:30 a.m. and we finally left around 5 a.m. after we realized we had to be up in 3.5 hours for the Blue Mountains.

What. A. Night.

Surprisingly, the next morning was great. We loaded on the bus and in two short hours we were at the Blue Mountains! Again, breathtaking.

ImageImageImage

Yes, I kissed a rock. It was for good luck, so I kissed it five times. You can read the story of the Three Sisters here:

http://www.bluemts.com.au/tourist/thingstodo/threesisters/

After spending the day on the bus and seeing the views of the Blue Mountains, we were back at our Hostel gearing up for round two!

We started the night on Oxford Street and ended up venturing to King’s Cross, an area in Sydney known for the clubs and craziness. We ended up coming back to Oxford Street because we are all cheap college students and did not want to pay any covers. Ha! Saturday was a much shorter night than Friday, but hey, it was just as fun.

The last day of our weekend was spent walking the beaches. We took the Sydney Ferry over to Manly Beach and then back to Sydney to take a walk on Bondi Beach and a few other beaches. The walk to Bondi Beach was awesome. They had an art show happening on the walk way. So many creative pieces! Loved it!

Image

Image

I went up on that ledge! Gorgeous views!

Image

Well, after the beaches, we jumped on the bus and made our 14 hour trek home!

I fell in love with Sydney this weekend. If I ever move to Australia, I will live in Sydney. Woah.

DOWNER ALERT! I only have 24 days left in Australia…

UPPER ALERT! I am going to QUEENSTOWN, NEW ZEALAND November 2 to November 8!!! I am BEYOND excited. I’m not too sure what I’ll be doing there, but bungee jumping, white water rafting, and a few other things are in the works!

Thanks for reading.

Pat

One thought on “SYDNEY

  1. The kids and I loved your report on Sydney!! What a great time!! Hannah says Hi and misses you!! Looking forward to your update on New Zealand! I’m so glad your having such a great trip!! Love you bunches – Kim, Dan & Hannah

Leave a Reply

